Keynote Speakers

Meet our Calgary 2022 Keynote Speakers

The Canadian Organizing Committee is pleased to announce our two keynote speakers for Calgary 2022:

Max Perchanok

Winter Service — Tuesday, February 8

Max Perchanok is a Geographer specializing in environmental impacts to surface transportation under cold climate conditions. For more than 30 years he developed and coordinated research for highway maintenance and road weather information at the Ministry of Transportation, Province of Ontario, Canada, focussing on innovations to improve road safety and reduce environmental impacts under winter conditions. He also worked in the private sector and for the federal Government of Canada to research opportunities for winter service improvements for lower-tier roadway agencies, and to improve practices and regulations for planning northern pipelines and Arctic shipping subject to hazards from mountain glaciers, icebergs and sea ice. Much of his research has been through partnerships with academia and with other Canadian and international government agencies. Max Perchanok has held leadership roles in research and technology transfer in Canada, and with the Transportation Research Board of the U.S. National Academies, and pooled-fund agencies of the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials.

Dr. Jean Andrey

Resilience — Thursday, February 10

Dr. Jean Andrey is the Dean of the Faculty of Environment, University of Waterloo and Professor of Geography. Her research program focuses on weather-transportation interactions, including planning for transportation in the context of a changing climate. Her most cited work deals with weather-related collisions risks in Canada. In addition, she has contributed to Canada’s national assessments of climate change impacts and adaptations and to the IPCC’s Working Group on Impacts, Adaptations and Vulnerabilities. She has published more than 100 articles, book chapters, and technical reports; and supervised 200 student theses and projects. Dr. Andrey also is an award-winning teacher.